A Little Bit Of News….

Quite a lot of exciting book-related things are going on at the moment- some of which I can’t yet reveal,  a couple of which I can.

Firstly, The Girl Who Walked On Air is to be published in Taiwan. Whoop!

Secondly, a month ago I was approached via my agent by Collins Educational, who asked if I would write a 5000 ‘take’ on Wuthering Heights for primary readers. At this time, i was already on a tight deadline for Faber. It was the busy time of year for the A level students I teach. And, I was just about to spend the first week of the Easter hols teaching on an Arvon course. Plus, Collins wanted the finished script by the end of April.

  wuthering-heights1

Well, of course I couldn’t possibly… except Wuthering Heights is one of my all-time favourite books. I adore it and know it inside out. So, against my better judgement I said YES.

Suffice to say the book was a dream to write. It didn’t take too long, and actually served to get me back on track with my own Faber story, which had hit a 20,000 word wall. Writing such a compact text was a great exercise in plot and word count discipline. It also meant working with a different publisher, which was fun.

The Collins Big Cat series ties in with the new Key Stage 2 curriculum demands for familiarity with classic texts. Some great writers have re-worked great stories- John Agard, Julie Berry, Fleur Hitchcock to name a few. Can’t wait to read them.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Collins-Big-Cat-Wuthering-Heights/dp/0008147337/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1431519538&sr=8-11&keywords=emma+carroll

4 thoughts on “A Little Bit Of News….

Leave a Reply

