Writing (almost) Full Time by Emma Carroll

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

Since dropping more teaching hours this academic year, I’m now writing almost full time. I say ‘almost’, because I still teach one day a week in school, and that one day is a godsend. No, I haven’t had a late career epiphany. I haven’t gone slowly mad from working at home, either, nor do I crave that day for its contact with the outside world. It’s a money thing, that’s all.

Most writers know writing alone doesn’t pay the bills. I’m not talking ‘new car, new kitchen, foreign holiday’ type bills- I’m talking the basics like heat and light. For 20 years now, I’ve done a job (teaching) that has a regular income, paid holiday, sick pay, a pension. My parents, public sector workers all their lives, found it hard to understand why I’d want to give all this up. Writing doesn’t offer these things.

Nor does writing have an…

View original post 340 more words

Leave a Reply

