SECOND BOOK SYNDROME

As I blog, the very final version of The Girl Who Walked On Air is at the printers. ARCs are already in circulation, promotional events being planned. It doesn’t seem five minutes ago that Frost Hollow Hall was taking its first wobbly steps into the big wide world. And yet here we are, eight months later, with book 2 about to hit the shelves (the 7th August to be exact).
Does it feel different this time round?
Yes. And no.

frost

Frost Hollow Hall was special. It was my very first taste of being published. I’ve been reviewed- nicely and not so nicely. I’ve walked- all right, raced  – into bookshops to look for MY BOOK, squealed when I’ve found it, sighed when I’ve not. I’ve gone cross-eyed over the weird magic that is Amazon rankings. I’ve met some truly inspirational people in the industry, and plenty more WONDERFUL readers. I’ve been longlisted, shortlisted…. I won’t go on. Suffice to say it’s been a massive learning curve. It still is.

 

51We24uzGSL

With The Girl Who Walked On Air I’m no longer a shiny debut. Readers of Frost Hollow Hall might have expectations. So might my publishers: I don’t want to let anyone down. I suppose I have my own expectations too. Perhaps the two books will be compared- hang on, aren’t I doing that myself? The truth is I don’t know how this will all play out. I expect you can hear my anxiety. Just like last time, it’s there.
Yet with that anxiety comes excitement. Massive, fizzing, punch the air excitement. I’ve written the best story I could. I’m proud of what my editor and I have achieved. This book feels like the real deal- I wrote it under contract, under pressure. Unlike Frost Hollow Hall, it didn’t come easily. It took discipline, focus and sheer hard work. Yes, the tightrope metaphor wasn’t lost on me! And now, with it’s glorious cover, it’s ready for the world.
The rest is for you, the reader, to decide.

Leave a Reply

